Monologue

Long days and longer nights,

My inconspicuous life passes by,

Marked by  tiresome routines and

Inconsequential choices.

The curse of the future,

The curse of the past,

Wears me down.

 

While I watch you toss

In your sleep.

I can feel every snore,

Chipping away at my soul.

With every  hour of ,

Pretending to care,

You wring my heart out.

 

The void gets bigger,

With every passing day.

And this time I know It,

It is  here to stay.

There is nothing I can do,

To try and save this sinking ship.

We have stopped being us,

A long time ago.

 

Maybe it was me,

Who conjured up this illusion,

And  kept fighting to keep it,

Alive for as long as I could.

 

I wish I was prepared,

For this eventuality.

It dawns on me now,

Slow and painful,

That I have been fighting a losing battle.

While you stayed afloat,

going through the way,

so unsure of everything.

 

So many years thrown away just like that,

All on an illusion,

All on a flight of fancy.

Sonia Anoop

About Thumbelina81
A dreamer lost in this world. Part time Writer, Part time Gardener, A full time wife.

Leave a Reply

