Lately, I feel

 

Lately, I feel like,

I have been hung out  dry,

With nothing left to offer

But a turbulent mind,

Full of noise.

Life passes by

While I am brooding

over my  current  state of mind.

Trying to hold on to

a sliver of hope,

Which mocks me unwittingly,

Slipping from my clinched fist.

Reminding me of the darkness,

Between beams of light

With reminders of the past,

And  the deeply ignored hurt,,

is all coming back in,

A flash of a minute.

As I type,

I try to erase the memories

Of a life I had light years ago,

And the darkest woods that I have to cross,

To reach there again.

 

Sonia Anoop

18th Aug’13

 

About Thumbelina81
A dreamer lost in this world. Part time Writer, Part time Gardener, A full time wife.

10 Responses to Lately, I feel

  1. ksbeth says:

    you will get there, take baby steps, and keep moving forward

  2. Suggest visit poet stillfugue whom I follow. Same angst, same style, same themes. I would have guessed he wrote this. Your poem really speaks to me.

  3. belsbror says:

    Hi! I nominated you for the Shine On Award. Please get the badge at http://wp.me/s32YrK-enliven and get more info. Have a great day. 🙂

  4. Gowri says:

    I would look at it this way,

    Reminding me of the beams of light, despite the darkness around…

    Love.

  5. tumpishome says:

    slow and steady wins the race…hold on to your faith…you will get there

  6. Aditi says:

    Beautiful Sonia!! We all have to struggle with our past…somewhere down the road…but it is important to take the learnings from it and let in not shadown on our brighter tomorrows!!

  7. Magical words.Thought-provoking. Thanks for sharing.
    http://www.bnomadic.wordpress.com

  8. Beautiful and a little sad but at the end…all will be okay!! We know from where to pick the pieces and from where to start!

  9. These lines are not a good feeling – “With reminders of the past,
    And the deeply ignored hurt,,
    is all coming back in”

    Beautifully written poem though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

