Message in the bottle for the other Akka

Image

Legend has it that her claim to undivided attention from the family ended when I landed up in the flock. And she found in me, a little baby to hold, protect and love. The one she could call her little sister. The one who tagged on to her like baggage she could never disown.

I followed her like a loyal little puppy, with the blind belief that I would be taken care of, as long as she was in my line of sight. And indulge she did, in the endless tantrums that I would throw, and her favorite pastime of the lot, minding what I would wear. The saga continues, I am on the other side of thirties now and she still can’t help obsessing over the way I look or the way I dress. I can’t get out of her sight without her stamp of approval/disapproval of my attire.

I have followed her everywhere she went as long as she was in school. By the sheer number of years of co-habitation, she has always been my first best friend. The one, with whom I have shared my bed for the longest number of years, the one with whom I have shared my laughter, tears, crushes and heartbreaks. The one from whom I would gladly accept hand me downs and wouldn’t think twice to flaunt them with pride . And last but not the least, the one,whom I depended subconsciously to protect me from the big bad world.

But somewhere along the years, a role reversal happened and thus began my journey of being there for my older sister. from packing her lunch boxes and cooking for her,putting my foot down very strongly if I saw danger lurking around her, or chasing away unsuitable marriage prospects. Or the times where I meekly submit to her will and take orders by phone. And always try to follow orders even if it means going out of the way. And through it all, I knew it is too small a price to pay for the unconditional love she showers on me.

We have had our fair share of ups and downs like all siblings do. Mostly because I expect her to protect me and be on my side like the good old days from childhood. But the couple of times, she chose to be with someone who broke my heart shattered me quite a bit..But I guess that’s the thing about sisters, it doesn’t  take more than a few days to  break the vicious cycle of  disappointments and justifications.

And Akka If you are reading this, I want you to know that

However bumpy the road is and however far life takes me away from you, I will always choose to come home to you. Because you are a part of me and as long as I live, I am ever grateful and can never erase the memories of:

  1. Being the scared little girl in Kindergarden, and finding your re-assuring face stuck to my classroom window, secretly looking out for me
  2. Of  playing Antakshari to help me sleep through those dreadful summer nights filled with power cuts and mosquitoes
  3. For the times, you were ready to face the flak for all that I did, through my complicated years from writing my notes of absence or landing up with me at the Principal’s office.
  4. For teaching me earlier on in life. That boy troubles are never meant to last and a good old raid to a Chaat Bhandaar can get any monkey of a boy out of my head.
  5. For being my co-conspirator and always trying too hard to protect the best interests of Amma.
  6. For a lifetime of memories through childhood and my foray into the much dreaded adulthood
  7. For looking after Caveman and me through the worst stretch of our lives.
  8. For doing all the Puja’s that you can so that we  are blessed with a kid.
  9. For being my go to person for everything in Bangalore
  10. And last but not the least for giving me Pranav, who is the closest to the son I will ever have.

And while I am here,in your birthday week, I wish you the very best of happiness and love forever.

And PS; For future reference: If I hate something, the unwritten rule of my sisterhood demands that you hate it more  ..Lol..

About Thumbelina81
A dreamer lost in this world. Part time Writer, Part time Gardener, A full time wife.

12 Responses to Message in the bottle for the other Akka

  1. ksbeth says:

    Beautiful tribute to your sister )

  2. Beautiful expression.

  3. Lynda says:

    You are such a loving sister. You are blessed to have each other.

  4. Aditi says:

    Awwww….being the akka myself I can totally relate to this love, the wonderful bond tht u both share. Missing my sis terribly now 😦 And the role reversal happened with us too…hehe 🙂 🙂

  5. gavmomof2 says:

    Beautiful – As much as I adore my brother, I often wondered what life would be like to have a sister too … 🙂 ~maria

  6. chipmunk says:

    Having sister is always good 🙂 🙂 we can say they act as a mom at times 🙂 I love the letter 🙂 🙂 I must admit one should be blessed to born with a sister and lucky to get a brother and we are equally blessed 🙂 hugs to your sister 🙂 🙂 🙂

  7. Beautiful write as always. Nice and rich tribute to a sister.

  8. You are blessed to have a sister like her. Pass my birthday wishes to her. And you are right about chaat bhandar or any street food for that matter.

  9. chaitanya says:

    Beautiful, and I agree with everything! My elder sis and I are soulmates, and even though we live half a world away, we still have ESP- we pick the same color shoes, start listening to the same bands, and randomly call when the other is secretly experiencing some turmoil. Sisters rock! sharing this with mine.

  10. I guarantee that your sister will cry when she reads this. Stay blessed both of you.

  11. Anonymous says:

    Hey sis…your every word touched me…so deep…count on me…forever…love you loads

Leave a Reply

