And I am hired

Cleared the cobwebs of the resume. A couple of interviews, and several nail biting days later comes the word. “You are hired”. Confetti blasts and smiles galore, I share the news with the near and dear. They send love, energy, wishlists for the first salary and I say, Hold your horses, this has happened before.

Cant escape the Déjà vu, The first official day at work. I choose my best attire, my happy confident face, and am all set to take on the world. And then began the phone calls, Amma says,” Remember it is just a job and whatever happens you will not lose yourself at work”. Akka checks if I am dressed well,and reminds me of the thing called first impressions. Caveman drops me to the office and says I am just a phone call away and if you are uncomfortable, I can drop you back home. Hmmm..Its not my first day at school and I shriek, Guys “get a hold on your separation anxiety”.

I walk into the building and I realise, first days anywhere and at any age are all the same. A little bit of anxiety, A little bit of fear, oodles of enthusiasm and people who stare. Mountains of paper work and there’s always the meet and greet. A new name and a designation is  rattled off and  I am introduced to a stranger who could probably design my future. I flash my best smile and bring out my most confident handshake. I am taken to my desk, a tiny little place away from home, that I can call my own.

And I figure out the way to what I deem the most important ritual at work. The way to the coffee machine and decide if the coffee is worth drinking. While I sip , I wonder , A new chapter begins and no matter how much I deny. It was simply a wish to belong to the masses, to leave the house with the husband and bring back a paycheck home, pick the occasional tab at the restaurant, and buy my loved ones all that I can buy.

I wished to have my parallel universe where I stumble, falter, and maybe achieve. And all this begins with the very first day. The day which begins with putting me out of my comfort zone, demanding a change to my routine and making my stomach a host to a lot of ticklish butterflies.

Wish me luck folks ..and I cant believe I am saying this, Thank God , It is indeed Friday.

 

 

About Thumbelina81
A dreamer lost in this world. Part time Writer, Part time Gardener, A full time wife.

42 Responses to And I am hired

  1. KP says:

    Best wishes for a bright and ascending career full of satisfaction and lots of money
    Let not the job hamper your blogging.

  2. ksbeth says:

    step out of your comfort zone and into the greatest periods of growth you will ever know. congrats and jump in!

  3. Gowri says:

    Sonia,
    You are my hero!
    Love.

  4. Congratulations and best of luck on this venture! 🙂

  5. tumpishome says:

    wish you loads of luck…you will do well….I have faith

  6. Anonymous says:

    Congrats my dear.
    Love from Belgium,
    Véro

  7. Congrats my dear.
    Love from Belgium,
    Véro

  8. All the best! First day at work is always, least to say, awkward!

  9. Perfect description of a new first day at work. All the best! Don’t drink too much coffee. 🙂

  10. Congrats. Wishing you good luck. Hope, I won’t miss your beautiful write.

  11. Harsha says:

    Congratulations…..

  12. Congratulations!!!!

  13. winsomebella says:

    This made me feel excited and nervous for you 🙂 Enjoy your new adventure.

  14. Best wishes and luck for the times ahead. May God bless

  15. All the best to you.
    And I hope the coffee was good.:-)

  16. Wish you loads of success and hope the tiny desk becomes your comfort zone soon. BTW, was the coffee good?

  17. My Say says:

    hmm!! Lady .. now the office going lady ?? Congrats dear friend !! Wish you all great experiences and huge incentives along with salaries too 🙂 ..
    A new chapter in the book of life … a new plant in the garden 🙂 BoL

  18. Indrani says:

    Congrats! Wish you great time ahead!

  19. Malini says:

    Congrats and good luck Sonia!

  20. Polianthus says:

    Good luck to you and remember the journey is the destination and a career is defined in as many different ways as there are human beings.

  21. Kavitha Anand says:

    Good Luck Sonia!!

  22. Pingback: Banana’s over Banana Peppers | Pitter Potter Mad Gardener

  23. InnerDialect says:

    Ticklish butterflies and all … :)))))))))))))))))) haha but all the very best…. we could be jealous yknow,but happily. Best wishes.. Innerdialects

Leave a Reply

