When I say

When I say, I am your friend,
I give a bit of me, for you to own,
To fill a part of my life,
With a spirit of your own.
I’ll be there nodding vehemently to everything you say,
And to everything you dont.

I’ll travel all night to spend an hour with you,
And miss planes or trains if  you need me to.
Ill wait outside your door for hours,
Just to make you smile for a while.
A lil banter, a cup of Chai, a warm hug,
Once in a while.

At times,you will hear all that I feel,
A little more than, what you can deal,
But please know, this is how I heal.
And when I am quiet, you will know,
That is, how I let my moods keel.

Ill yell at you, if you make me mad,
But I’ll be the first one to say,
I am sorry, I made you sad.
I’ll always let you win,
All our petty fights,
And cheer you along,
On all your big fights.
And when you are down,
All you need is a dose,
Of inconsequential chatter with me,
to turn your frown upside down.

I will send you a poem or a mail,
To tell you that  I love you so.
I will be with you,
Every step of your way.
And wont hesitate to say,
I miss you much and,
My life gets by a little harder
Without you by my side..

Sonia Anoop
31st May, 2013

About Thumbelina81
A dreamer lost in this world. Part time Writer, Part time Gardener, A full time wife.

31 Responses to When I say

  1. KP says:

    That is a wonderful poem on friendship I have read in recent times.

  2. Fawzia says:

    😞😣😢. It’s sooo pretty!! Beautifully written!!

  3. ksbeth says:

    beautiful and a very real description of friendship )

  4. Lovely heart warming poem

    • Thumbelina81 says:

      THank you . I really wish I could write as beautifully as you. Each of your stories are gems of a rare kind. Love your blog and I hope someday I pick up some of your essence.

  5. I just loved each n every line … so much passion n love for the bond called friendship .. its a tribute …a nice composition .. 🙂

  6. anjan roy says:

    Friendship at it’s best…loved it a lot…

  7. hindustanisakhisaheli says:

    new definition of frndship 🙂

  8. My Say says:

    some shoulders are worth nagging for .. worth taking tantrums … they should know their preciousness to us .. loved every line..as bits and as the entire verse … Sonia
    Thank You for Sharing !!

  9. dNambiar says:

    Beautiful! Friendship is a very endearing subject and you’ve written these lines so well. 🙂

  10. Indrani says:

    Good lines for a friendship card.

  11. magiceye says:

    Beautiful ballad! Set to tune it will be soul stirring!

  12. Damyanti says:

    So much longing in these lines.

  13. If friendship could be defined in few words…then these might be apt enough!

  14. Sfurti says:

    Wow Sonia..wonderful poem…sounds like straight from heart.

  15. This is a piece of poetry with a message that will stregthen the bond of friendship. A very good poem.

  16. Awww…this poem is so me. I love it 🙂

  17. so much love? i hope it is deserved.

  18. dixita says:

    mesmerized!

Leave a Reply

